Are you among the users who created multiple Instagram accounts? Or are you among those who are fed up with social media and want to delete your Instagram account permanently? Maybe disable Instagram account temporarily? Then you are at the right place.
Instagram has more than a billion users, and it feels good to share stories, pictures, and updates from your everyday life. Share stuff with your friends and grow on Instagram. But when your Instagram account gets hacked or you believe a lot of your personal information is being shared with everyone then it’s better to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily at least. And if you are among those users who have multiple Instagram accounts and now it’s becoming difficult for you to maintain all of those, then it’s better to delete at least a few of them. Having multiple Instagram accounts can make it difficult to look at all the different messages and updates you receive. Your friends may find multiple profiles of yours and may not know which one to follow to connect with you. In such cases, it’s better if you permanently delete your Instagram accounts and maybe stick with just one or two. So that it’s easier for you as well as your followers.
Temporarily Disable Instagram Account for a While
If you feel that you are using Instagram a lot and the regular notifications, that you get, distract you from your everyday work. If you are also among Instagram addicts who when once open the Instagram, keep scrolling it for hours instead of focusing on the important task. Then it’s better to disable Instagram account for a while and see if that increases your productivity. When you temporarily disable Instagram account you can always reactivate it back whenever you want to. If you disable your Instagram account, your photos, profile, likes, and comments are hidden until you reactivate your Instagram account back by logging in. You can temporarily deactivate your Instagram account using a computer or mobile browser.
Steps to deactivate your Instagram account temporarily
Step 1 – To deactivate your Instagram account, you will need to open your Instagram account on your mobile or computer web browser and log in. You can use Instagram’s homepage – www.Instagram.com
Step 2- Go to your profile picture in the top right and select “Profile”. Then “Edit Profile”.
Step 3 – If you will scroll down, you will see an option that says, “Temporarily Disable My Account”. It will be at the bottom right section of the page. Select it.
Step 4 – It will then ask you why are you disabling your account? You will have to select a reason from the dropdown menu and enter your password. This will be your Instagram account password. Do remember that the option to disable your account will only appear once you have selected a reason from the dropdown menu.
Step 5 – Once you have selected the reason, click on “Temporarily Disable Account”. That’s it. Now your Instagram account is deactivated.
Once disabled, all your profile, comments, pictures, and likes will be hidden until you reactivate your Instagram account again. Also, your friends will not be able to find your profile by searching for you, using your name or your Instagram user ID. Since the profile is hidden it will not appear in searches.
Permanently Delete You Instagram Account
If you feel your Instagram account is hacked or if you have multiple Instagram accounts and you want to delete them then you can follow the steps mentioned below.
Before moving forward do understand that once you delete your account, your photos, your profile, your reels, guides, comments, and likes along with your followers will be removed from Instagram permanently. Once your account is deleted, you will not be able to retrieve any of the content that you uploaded to Instagram. You will not be able to connect with all of your followers again using the same account. If you just want to take a short break and stay away from Instagram for a while, then I would recommend temporarily deactivating Instagram account rather than permanently deleting it. And once your Instagram account is deleted, you cannot use the same username again to sign up for a new account. Like you can always look for new cool Instagram usernames, but you will not be able to reuse the previous username.
One more thing that Instagram recommends before you delete your account is to download a copy of your information. This information includes content like your Instagram post and pictures. Because once the account has been deleted, you will not be able to access Instagram’s data download tool.
Steps to delete your Instagram account
Here are the steps to delete your Instagram account permanently:
Step 1 – You cannot delete your account from within the Instagram app. So, you will have to go to this page – Delete your Instagram account.
Step 2 – Log in using your Instagram credentials.
Step 3 – It will then ask you, “Why you are deleting your account?”. Select a reason from the dropdown menu and then enter your password. Do remember that the “Delete Your Account” option will only appear once you have selected a reason from the dropdown menu.
Step 4 – Now click on permanently delete my account. That’s all. Your Instagram account has now been deleted permanently.
Instagram saves your account information for 30 days. Once these 30 days are completed, your information will be deleted permanently and you will not be able to get it back. Meanwhile, this information will also not be accessible to other Instagram users and your followers.
So these were some simple steps that you can follow to either temporarily disable your Instagram account for a while or just delete Instagram account permanently. Both the options are pretty useful at times. Go ahead with whatever suits you the best. If you plan to come back on Instagram in the future or want to explore the features do check out our beginner’s guide to Instagram.